No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Monday Round-up: Splendour Speculation and Coachella Live

It’s been a pretty decent weekend. As one of the world’s largest music festival takes place in California, the Coachella Live streaming service has distracted me from mindless studying. With Splendour in the Grass due to announce their line-up this Thursday, there are a number of acts playing at Coachella which are possible to make the trip over. The Shins seem highly likely to perform at Byron, with a set that included a mix of the old and new, and included New Slang, Australia, and Sleeping Lessons. As I write this, At The Drive In are playing a brilliant set, and are an outside chance to headline Splendour. Band of Skulls are almost definitely making the trip, while my favourite group from the weekend, We Were Promised Jetpacks are another chance to make it over. But as more bands announce plans overseas at the end of July, we get a smaller field to guess the Splendour headliners. Frontier Touring have given us a few clues that Jack White is due to announce a tour in the next few days, to coincide with a headlining appearance at Splendour, while the rumours for indie stalwarts Bloc Party and Franz Ferdinand.

Did everyone else watch Dre and Snoop’s set? I must admit, I was mighty impressed, and I rarely listen to rap or hip-hop. But I must admit I was a little uncomfortable by the Tupac hologram. It was an impressive display of technology, and if anyone could have done it, it was Dre and Snoop, but part of me can’t help but think it was a little eerie and disrespectful to Tupac. Anyway, that’s my two cents on the matter.

Gig of the Week

Bleeding Knees Club released their debut EP earlier this year. Nothing to Do is a catchy riff-driven surf-rock piece and the group are currently touring around Australia. It’s going to be a pretty intense set, if their set at Falls FEstival is anything to go by. They play the Northcote Social Club this Saturday night.

Album of the Week

Jack White – Blunderbuss

I’m sure I’m not the only one who would have liked The White Stripes to have stayed together, or at least given Australia another tour before their unfortunate demise. But Jack White continues to make music and his seemingly inevitable solo album is upon us. I’ve only had a chance to listen to two singles from the album, but I’m itching to get my hands on a copy.

What I’m Listening To

Pulp – Different Class

I could have put a number of Coachella acts here, but watching Pulp again reminds me of so many good times in my life.

Leave a Reply

