No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Gotye – Making Mirrors

Making Mirrors is the most anticipated album of the year. My apologies to Bon Iver and Red Hot Chili Peppers, but after the amazing success of his previous LP , 2006’s Like Drawing Blood, the hype surrounding Wally’s follow-up is immense. When you combine this with the smashing lead singles Eyes Wide Open and Somebody I Used To Know, there’s a lot of pressure for this album to be good.
For all intents and purposes, Gotye is one of Australia’s premier pop artists. He doesn’t rely on lyrics about ‘getting some’, or nightclubs. At my old job, we had to play a certain CD. I used to count the amount of times the word ‘club’ was said on the songs. It was ridiculous the numbers I ended up with. But it’s Gotye’s relaxed, modest approach to his music that makes it so enjoyable to listen to. Also, he is an amazing musician. In an age where any kid with a laptop can create a electro pop song, Gotye proves that he is better than the rest.

Starting with the obvious, most of Australia is now hooked on Somebody I Used To Know. The track talks about a lost love, or rather a past lover. In a similar way to what Heart’s a Mess did on Like Drawing Blood, Somebody That I Used To Know brings the darker side to the album. But it’s the addition of Kimbra that makes this amazing. Here contrast to Gotye, makes the song all the more powerful. Eyes Wide Open was released near the end of last year, and was voted the 25th best song of 2010 by Triple J listeners. If it was released this year, I believe it would have been top 10, such is the brilliance of this song.

But there’s more to the album. The three track run of I Feel Better, In Your Light and State of the Art is potentially my favourite part of the album. Gotye has been playing State of the Art and I Feel Better on live dates throughout 2011, and for obvious reasons. At first listen, I thought State of the Art was a bit disappointing, as Wally sings through a voice modulator, but by the end, this Avalanches-esque masterpiece was one of my favourites of the album. I Feel Better and In Your Light are the happier songs on the album and seem like the sun peeking out of the cloud after the touch of sadness in previous tracks.

It is no wonder that Gotye is everyone’s favourite artist at the moment, and Making Mirrors has only helped that. With an almost certain #1 in this years Hottest 100, and a number of solid album tracks, the only disappointment is that it took so long to come out. Gotye is still one of Australia’s greatest current pop artists.

3 responses to “Gotye – Making Mirrors

  1. Silje August 20, 2011 at 4:04 am

    I’ve been waiting for so very, very long, but it was worth the wait!

    I bought it today, so I haven’t had a chance to listen to it more than a few times, but the album will be on repeat for quite a while now 🙂

    Silje, Norway

  2. Tom Gordon (@zagziggordo) August 24, 2011 at 11:30 am

    I’ve been waiting for this for ages but “I Feel Better” just comes across as awkward.

  3. Silje August 24, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I Feel Better reminds me of Learnalilgivinanlovin, the song that originally made me listen to his music (it was on the Whip It soundtrack). Learnalilgivinanlovin stuck out on Like Drawing Blood, but on Making Mirrors there are several feel-good songs, so I feel it goes nicely with the rest – at least after hearing the entire album 30+ times 😉

Leave a Reply

