No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Hey Fever – Codes

Hey Fever are a band that has been around the Melbourne club and music scene for a few years, playing their own brand indie-garage rock.  Wow, I haven’t read that sentence before. However, there must be some merit to my thought, why else would the internet let me write WHATEVER I WANT ON HERE?  Makes sense doesn’t it?  So, this band.  They are called Hey Fever. Puntasticism aside, they are fuzzy guitar heavy shout-pop up tempo rock and roll superstars.  As far as I have listened to four songs and I wasn’t completely bored.  I am not a big fan of listening to smaller independent acts, mostly because I just don’t have the patience for it.  That said I am really enjoying the EP Codes.  It reminds me a lot of another great band coming to Australia for Splendour Danananakaroyd while the sharp guitar solo reminds me of the glory of proto-punk legends The Stooges and alike.  They have been playing in and around Melbourne pubs and clubs for a while, and I vaguely recall their name on club poster drawn by a 16 year old one thursday night,  although I don’t remember them.  Unfortunate that because the feeling I get is that their music would explode on stage, with an almost stadium-rock like feel to some of the tracks.  As some may know, I am a fan of rock music, and this is finally something coming out of Melbourne with a bit of kick.   Thankful.

http://heyfeversounds.bandcamp.com/

Leave a Reply

