No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Radiohead – The Butcher/Supercollider

Radiohead emailed me today, telling me that released two new songs The Buthcer and Supercollider which I was able to download for free.  I’m not whether or not this is because I had already purchased “The King Of Limbs.”  I was glad to hear it because I had always expected a great deal from any new Radiohead release and although I enjoyed TKOL, it was very difficult.  Apparently The Butcher was recorded and mixed during TKOL sessions but did not fit on the album.  It seemed to me that it would have fit quite well, even added something to the album with its constant drum repetition and slow minor chords on synth, it has quite a dark streak to it.  It is somewhat reminiscent of Amnesiac in sound but combined much more grunge/alternative rock sensibility.  Supercollider was finished after the rest of the tracks were recorded and it is a much more positive sounding track, perhaps a relief for the band to finish their new relase.   It is 7 minutes of a much more upbeat Radiohead, with almost a tribal feel to the synth over which Yorke’s vocals characteristically soar.

As we know from the reception of TKOL, any Radiohead is good Radiohead, but these tracks are nothing like the calibre of previous singles releases.  See Harry Patch (In Memory of) from 2009, one of the most moving pieces of music I have ever heard.  The new tracks did however do something to reduce the uneasiness I have felt since TKOL that I somehow did not like a Radiohead album, as blasphemous as that may be.  I’m not sure whether or not I simply haven’t yet fully appreciated The King of Limbs or didn’t enjoy it because it wasn’t as good as previous release.  Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

