No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Callum’s 30 Day Song Challenge #18: A Song That You Wish You Heard On The Radio

Babies – Pulp

A very relevant song this one, with Pulp just being announced for Splendour and this is one of my favourite songs of theirs. In my opinion, Pulp were the third largest BritPop band, behind Blur and Oasis. Their reunion is making much pleasings to me.

As is often the case in the months leading up to a big festival, the bands get more play on the mainstream channels. I’m pretty sure I heard Tool on Nova in January. And I think that Pulp will start getting more coverage. They had this huge following in Britain but unfortunately never really got as big here, except for maybe Common People, which featured in Triple J’s Hottest 100 of All Time.

I remember a few years back – think it was around July 2009 – a friend claimed he could pick up any girl by quoting a line from this song – “I wanna take you home, I wanna give you children, and you might be my girlfriend” – Of course, this failed hilariously.

I feel that Pulp is one of those bands that would have inspired much of today’s indie bands. I had a discussion yesterday with a friend how people should know where today’s music comes from and this would be a good start.

Leave a Reply

