No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Architecture in Helsinki – Moment Bends

Architecture in Helsinki are one of those bands that have been around for ages but have always been just out of picture.  Their new album Moment Bends threatens to pull them into the spotlight, as radio stations will love this album. For years there has been a strangeness to there music,  a certain quirkiness that made them slight challenging to get into. Their hits have always been good, but I’ve never found myself wanting to listen to an album. With songs like Heart It Races and Wishbone, there has been obvious potential, which hasn’t been achieved.

Moment Bends is a bit more accessible than other AiH albums. They’ve managed to maintain their imagination, combining an electronic grooming with some 80s style hooks, to create an interesting pop album. I’m not sure if I like it yet, there are some good moments, obviously in lead single Contact High, but with the array of other new albums out in the last few weeks, this one has not been my most preferred. Far from it. Even as I listen to it while writing this, I’d much prefer to be listening to Foo Fighters or The Kills.

I’m already tipping this record to get really good reviews, it seems one of those albums which will unite hipsters and commoners around the country, in much the same way Mumford & Sons did a few years back. While it’s not a new sound, they’re poppy-electro sound is quite unique, and people love something different.

Perhaps I’m being a little harsh. It isn’t a bad album, but it’s difficult for me to enjoy it. Apart from the obvious single Contact High and That Beep, the only song I truly enjoyed was I Know Deep Down. There’s nothing wrong with the rest of the album, just nothing stood out. I’ve never noticed it before, but Cameron Bird has a very similar vocal sound to Mika. For good or for worse.

Maybe I’m just not a very pop-friendly sort of person.  I can see how this would be a good album, but to me it’s a little “meh.” I think it’s more important to listen to it yourself, because you probably will like it.

Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

