No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Callum’s 30 Day Song Challenge #12: A Song From a Band You Hate

Walking on a Dream – Empire of the Sun

It’s not often I hate entire bands. I usually just hate individual people. But I make an exception for Empire of the Sun. One of the most contrived, arrogant pieces of bullshit I’ve ever heard, and yet people seem to like it!

For New Years Eve 2009-10, I was down at Philip Island for Pyramid Rock, which was meant to be headlined by Empire of the Sun. If you remember correctly, the Island was lashed by severe thunderstorms for a few hours from 6pm, meaning the main stage was damaged and no acts were able to perform.  People complained, I rejoiced because I wouldn’t have to watch Empire of the Sun ruin my New Years Eve. To summarize, I’d seen all the acts I wanted to at the festival, and due to the Thunderstorm, we were able to have a sick rave to Gold104 in the thunder. I had successfully dodged Empire of the Sun at one festival.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t avoid them the second time. Around this time last year, we attended the Groovin’ the Moo festival in Bendigo. If you’ve ever been to Big Day Out, Groovin’ the Moo has the same twin main stage set-up, allowing quick changes between acts. It turns out Empire of the Sun played on the left stage, then Vampire Weekend on the right stage, then Silverchair on the left stage again, meaning for a good spot for Silverchair you had to sit through Empire of the Sun. This lead to the longest hour of my life. All their songs sounded the same, no one was enjoying it, but the most ridiculous part was the costumes that him and his 5 back-up dancers were wearing. I couldn’t help but think how much money had been wasted and this rubbish. My new festival rule is to never go to another festival where I can’t avoid Empire of the Sun.

The only good thing Empire of the Sun have done, is not release music for the last two years. With a bit of luck, they’d have been abducted by aliens or just plain disappeared, just so I don’t have to hear their crap ever again.

Leave a Reply

