No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Callum’s 30 Day Song Challenge #10: A Song That Makes You Fall Asleep

Superstar – Sonic Youth

Back before my speakers broke, I used to have quite a substantial ‘Sleep’ playlist. It contained a fair bit of Radiohead, Death Cab, Velvet Undergound, the usual sort of melancholy, relaxing music. While there were a few that stood out, this one was one of my favourites.

The second song on my challenge so far that I discovered via Juno, the other being Belle & Sebastian’s Boy With the Arab Strap, but unlike that, this one featured in both the film and on the soundtrack. The problem with this song, is I don’t really have much to talk about with it. Mostly, this is because about 95% of my listens would have come at night when I’m trying to sleep. So instead of talking about it, I might just list some of my other sleep playlist songs.

Callum’s Sleep Playlist
Fake Plastic Trees – Radiohead
Exit Music (For a Film) – Radiohead
Marching Bands of Manhattan – Death Cab For Cutie
I Will Follow You Into The Dark – Death Cab For Cutie
Heroin – The Velvet Underground
Atmosphere – Joy Division
505 – Arctic Monkeys
Hamburg Song – Keane
Into My Arms – Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
Brain Damage/Eclipse – Pink Floyd
Chickfactor – Belle & Sebastian
Dress Up In You – Belle & Sebastian

At the end of the day, all these songs helped me to nod off. It’s not always the tempo or loudness of the song that puts me to sleep. It really depends on my mood. But listen to these one’s. They’re all good.

Leave a Reply

