No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Callum’s 30 Day Song Challenge #6: A Song That Reminds You of Somewhere

Hello – The Cat Empire

Another post relating to my childhood, for the last eight years The Cat Empire have been always been a favourite. I remember hearing this song and loving it. I was walking through this shopping centre in Nunawading with my dad when this came on over the loudspeakers. I ended up getting the album for my birthday a month later from my aunt, and it is still one of my favourite albums to listen to.

Even now, just listening to this song reminds me of a couple of places. It took me a while to think of a song for today but now I think this is a good decision. If the shopping centre moment is one, the second occurred at one of our many houses. If you now me then you’d now we’ve moved houses a few times. For a variety of reasons. But I remember back when this song was released, downloading it (it was a bad download and cut out halfway through the outro) and listening to it on repeat while playing Super Mario Sunshine on GameCube with my older sister. Even she still remembers this day. It’s one of the clearest memories I have of this house, I think the third I’d lived in. So that’s the second palce this song reminds me of.

The memory I actually picked this song for comes in year 9. When we were younger, we used to go on family caravan holidays. In year two, we went up the coast to northern Queensland and in year 9  we went to central Australia. Driving through central Australia is incredibly boring. There’s only so much you can take of your siblings and parents and without a huge musical knowledge I only had two CDs. The Cat Empire and Maroon 5. Needless to say, I listened to Cat Empire a lot. By the end of the trip, I not only knew all the lyrics to the album, but Cat Empire had become the first band I’d call my favourite. How times have changed?

Hello is not even my favourite from the album. But it brings back good memories. From Mario squirting things with his waterpack, to endless roads surrounding by red sand. I feel somewhat indebted to the Cat Empire.

Leave a Reply

