No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Callum’s 30 Day Song Challenge #4: A Song That Makes You Sad

Exit Music (For a Film) – Radiohead

I don’t really have too much to write about this one because it doesn’t really MAKE me sad. I don’ think any song makes me sad. If a song does make you sad then why would you listen to it? Unless you’re some depressed emo kid. It’s stupid. I guess this is a song I listen to when I’m sad and this is as close as I can get to answering todays challenge.

It was originally written for specifically for the ending credits of Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo & Juliet, and Thom Yorke has admitted that he took inspiration from the Zeffirelli version.

“I saw the Zeffirelli version when I was 13 and I cried my eyes out, because I couldn’t understand why, the morning after they shagged, they didn’t just run away. The song is written for two people who should run away before all the bad stuff starts. A personal song.”

I find Radiohead to be a generally emotional band. As do many people. So I find it quite interesting that I’ve listened to them so much over the last year, given that I’m generally an emotionless sack. Maybe I’m more complex than I thought.

2 responses to “Callum’s 30 Day Song Challenge #4: A Song That Makes You Sad

  1. imin April 3, 2011 at 3:40 am

    i do miss you my love.

Leave a Reply

