No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Callum’s 30 Day Song Challenge #3: A Song That Makes You Happy

The White Stripes – Hotel Yorba

I remember when I was a young lad, my sister had this drawing of Meg White. I think one of her friends had drawn it. At the time I was only little, and this was the first time I had heard of The White Stripes and Hotel Yorba was the first song of their’s I’d knowingly heard, mainly because it was my sister’s favourite. A little odd given given the popularity of Seven Nation Army. I remember we were driving somewhere one day, and I was listening to this song. She got angry, shouting that it was her song and I wasn’t allowed to listen to it. Such were the trivialities of youth.

The song seems to describe an idealistic life of a hermit couple. A life where the couple just say, “Fuck the World, I’m gonna do what I want.” I always imagined the song to be about Jack and Meg themselves. One of the reasons I love the White Stripes is the bond that is shared between them. Just to clarify, Jack and Meg were married and are now divorced, but the relationship that they have makes their music so much more moving. If you haven’t watched Under Great White Northen Lights I strongly advise it. Then you’ll understand.

But in the end, the song is about companionship. And while it does not print out the most lavish of lifestyles, it makes you think about the simple things. And more often than not, it is the simple things in life that bring the most joy.

RIP The White Stripes.

Leave a Reply

