No Jackets

this calls for some tuneskies

Callum’s 30 Day Song Challenge #1: Your Favourite Song

Belle & Sebastian – The Boy With the Arab Strap

It’s always difficult to pick one favourite song but for now this is it, mainly because I’m still suffering withdrawal symptoms from their set at Golden Plains. And I’ll admit, I first got into Belle & Sebastian following their appearance in Juno, but once I got over Piazza, New York Catcher this quickly became my favourite. But with Belle & Sebastian on a seemingly endless hiatus, I feared I would never be able to catch this gem live. In the end, it was well worth the wait.

It’s one of those songs that have many interpretations but to be honest, I never really think too much about the meaning. It has lyrics for good times (“We all know your soft cause we’ve all seen you dancing. We all know your hard cause we’ve all seen you drinking from noon until noon again”) and for bad (“Colour my life with a chaos of trouble) and yet the jaunty nature of the tune means it always makes me feel better.

On another note, it is one of my life goals to learn to play the flute (or recorder) solo from this piece.

If you haven’t been to the Meredith Supernatural Ampitheatre, it can be a truly magical place. The band played through their set, and it was perfect. By the time they got to this song, I was pretty excited. From the dimming light of the setting sun, to the grin of the 6-month-old girl on her fathers’ shoulder in front of me, it was one of those few unadulterated moments one comes across in life.

I couldn’t help but smile.

Leave a Reply

